Musings from George


Fear, law, and civil obedience
October 17, 2014, 4:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today I had to question something that I had believed for a long time — that I would have done great things in the military. I am a pretty good leader, and I think I am a good person, and I have always felt that I would happily die to defend my family, my friends, or my country. But the more I learn about the men and women who actually do serve, I realize that I am not very good at blindly taking orders and I sometimes lack the discipline to do things as completely as I should. I know how to paint a house, and have painted literally dozens in my lifetime (college summers) … but I just paid someone else to paint my house. I know how to garden pretty well, but … the garden needs some work, and I just can’t seem to squeeze that into my very wide open schedule. So it is hard to imagine taking orders from someone simply because of rank, and that is a key underpinning to order in the armed forces. So I guess we are all better off that I chose to work designing missile guidance systems instead of actually carrying a rifle.

A friend mentioned The Book of Questions, which he had raised before. I went to Amazon and read a few pages for free (that is a great offering!), and one of the questions is basically “what’s the worst thing you have ever done that you rationalized for x, y, or z reason”. That led me to walk back through the less happy times in my life, which is not something I am prone to do (aside: what do men and three-legged dogs have in common? both are always running forward, not looking back). Rather than confessing to breaking the law here in print, I just encourage you to do the same exercise and to consider what would have happened if you had been caught.

There have been demonstrations in the news, from Hong Kong to St Louis to Ferguson. Cornel West flew out to get arrested, and the Chinese government is finally clearing the streets of Hong Kong. An article in Time quotes Rand Paul as questioning why no one is out in the streets chanting “War, War, What is it good for?” given the fact that we are dropping bombs in Iraq and Syria and training a new group of “friendly” soldiers in the Middle East. It does seem that we have just settled into accepting that the world is a dangerous place, and our soldiers will always be in danger somewhere (perhaps even fighting the “war” on Ebola). The draft gave us an opposition to the Vietnam War, and the Depression fed an isolationist majority back before Pearl Harbor. What would it take to get the average US citizen to care enough to express an opinion about the Islamic State? We focus on building walls and sealing borders and being suspicious of people who travel from Africa, but we don’t question the $750M in explosives that we have dropped in the past six weeks. Should we care? What would civil disobedience look like now?

More soon. The Giants are in the World Series, and we are about to observe a moment of silence for the 25th anniversary of the World Series earthquake in 1989 at 5:04pm.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

