Musings from George


sdrawkcaB
January 25, 2008, 1:24 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I had an eerie experience cutting and pasting something out of Google, which caused my keyboard to reverse the characters I was typing…when I typed Backwards, I got the title above.

That scared me, so I quit the window. But WordPress had kept the draft, with that title, and I think it’s much more interesting than “Been A While”. The last post was backwards, and I’ll try to focus on forward now.

American presidential campaign has provided some wonderful comedy and drama, and I have enjoyed the lack of domination in what could turn out to be a competitive election in which the candidates have to actually communicate to their OWN constituencies what they stand for. Rather than the formula of the past few years (pander left or right, then swing to the middle to be electable) we may actually see each party define itself more distinctly than the platform statements. Huckabee picked apart the threads of the Reagan coalition, and Hillary and Obama are dissecting the support that Democrats get from the less-privileged citizens that are often taken for granted by their party. I’m happy to say I haven’t given any of them a dime (caveat, I believe in public campaign financing so John McCain and John Edwards may yet qualify for the dollars from my tax return), and have not been drowned in television advertising because California is so expensive and they have been focused elsewhere. I hope whatever happens that we select a leader that the world can respect, and who respects the world.

Forward!

George

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

