Musings from George


Upbeat Update
May 11, 2007, 12:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Recently I had a chance to relax and feel good about some of the things that I get to do, and I realized that I am not very good about sharing those happy thoughts on my blog. To correct the imbalance of sad or deep thoughts, I offer a few happy memories:

1. Having dinner at our house for a group of friends, prepared by teachers from a nonprofit I help out, and raising a good chunk of money while eating well and introducing people to the program. I’m on the board of directors for Family Connections, which offers free parent-involvement preschool in under-resourced communities. The teachers who offered to cook (auctioned at our fundraiser) are from Peru, Argentina, and El Salvador.The meal:

Appetizers:
Tortilla de Chauchas (Green Bean Frittata) from
Argentina

Palta Rellenas (Stuffed Avocados) from Peru
Tomate Rellenos (Stuffed Tomatoes) from Argentina

Main Dish:

Pupusas from El Salvador

Arroz con Pollo (chicken with rice) from Peru

Green Salad from USA

Dessert:    
Panqueques con dulce de leche o crema y frutillas (crepes with dulce de leche or cream and strawberries) from
Argentina

Helado de Lucuma y Pionono con manjarblanco (cake rolled with manjarblanco filling with lucuma ice cream) from Peru

 2. Being invited to speak at a Habitat for Humanity house dedication because of my company’s continued involvement and support in this very worthy program. I had the chance to speak to the seven families who are earning their homes, and to talk with the people who make it all possible. My son and I gave one family their keys, and he was perfectly behaved for the entire event. Fun link here about Habitat.

3. We are having 20-30 people over for dinner and a celebration of a microcredit organization that serves the poorest of the poor in Honduras. Adelante (in Spanish, “moving forward”) was founded by my wife’s college buddy and his wife, and we have had an annual fundraiser for them at our house. One of our good friends joined their board, and we really believe in the program. A British crew is filming a documentary about the program, and will be coming to our house for the dinner.4. My niece is getting married, and our family will be getting together to celebrate one of the happier moments in anyone’s life.

5. Our son is potty-trained, for the most part. I will NOT miss diapers when our daughter catches up with him.

6. So far this year I’ve been to a zoo five times, walked my son on a pony several times, visited the Monterey Aquarium twice, and stayed on the Pacific coast several times.

It’s necessary to worry about global warming and energy independence, but there are also a tremendous number of flowers growing in my life that I do take the time to nurture and enjoy. The resources available to me, and the friendships that I enjoy, make life a real joy most of the time.

George

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

